I’m not pinterested in spam

Just a quick rant this time.

I recently signed-up for pinterest. I wasn’t actually interested in signing-up, but wanted to see what their sign-up process looks like. If you’ve read one of my previous posts, you’d know I nearly always use unique, unpredictable email addresses for new services I sign-up to. Pinterest registration is quite nice, and only asks for a few details and an email address (that is, if you prefer a username and password instead of using Facebook or Twitter to login). Once you enter the details, pinterest sends you a Please verify your email message to your inbox. So far, so good.

However, what happens if you don’t verify your email? As was the case here. I wasn’t actually interested in creating an account. I assumed that I won’t hear from pinterest again. Wrong. I just received an email from pinterest, announcing their new secret boards. So much for confirming my account. According to Spamhaus, this is considered unconfirmed opt-in which is categorized as spam.

To add insult to injury, if I try to opt-out from the email I just received, Pinterest asks me to login to my (unconfirmed) account. These are all small annoyances, I know. But is it really that difficult to do things right? An unconfirmed account should not receive any messages. Opt-out links should just be one click and that’s it.

Leave a Reply

css.php